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SaaS Financial Modelling: Metrics, Forecasts & Growth

Learn SaaS financial modelling for startups & scale-ups. Forecast revenue, CAC, LTV, churn, and subscription growth to drive growth & investor decisions.

Education Apr 11, 2026 12 min read ✍️ rutik

 

Introduction: -

Financial modelling is a key tool for evaluating the financial health and future potential of a company. Companies, investors, and analysts use it to assess a company's financial success and likelihood to grow over time. The SaaS (Software as a service) type of business in the technology space requires financial models specific to it, because the revenue model is different compared to the more traditional type of business (deliver a software product once versus charge the customer monthly or annually for the software).

 

Some of the leading SaaS companies that have leveraged the SaaS model to acquire a steady and ongoing revenue stream while also scaling their businesses quickly include Salesforce, Adobe and Zoom Video Communications. Due to the predictability of the revenue but the high-cost of customer acquisition initially, the importance of financial modelling is significant in developing future growth, managing costs, and estimating future profit.

 

SaaS financial modelling focuses on performance metrics such as MRR (monthly recurring revenue), CAC (cost of acquiring customers), LTV (lifetime value of customers), churn, and subscription growth, which assist companies' and investors' abilities to determine how viable and profitable the company will be over the long-term.

What is Financial Modelling for SaaS Companies?

 

SaaS Companies' financial modelling is to generate an anticipated financial outline, or spreadsheet model, for how a SaaS business will perform financially in the future. This model will include predictions for how the company generates revenue, incurs costs and grows over time, all based on specific metrics related to SaaS Businesses.

In contrast to more traditional businesses, which typically sell their products just one time, SaaS companies sell their products on a subscription basis, either monthly or annually - which means their business model is based on continuing revenue, rather than one time sales, and hence SaaS financial projections are based on these two types of revenues, as well as on other metrics that relate to customers.

Many of the largest and most successful SaaS companies like Salesforce, Zoom Video Communications, and Adobe all use financial modelling to assist them in forecasting their growth, budgeting, and attracting investors.

 

The model helps companies:

Ø Forecast future revenue growth

Ø Understand customer behaviour

Ø Plan pricing strategies

Ø Evaluate profitability and cash flow

Ø Support fundraising and investor decisions

Key Characteristics of SaaS Financial Models

1. Recurring Revenue

Recurring revenue is key characteristic of financial models in the SaaS sector. Customers typically pay a set monthly or yearly fee for using the software service.

Instead of receiving a single-time revenue, the average SaaS company continues to receive ongoing revenue until the customer cancels. Recurring revenue is typically evaluated on a monthly (MRR) or yearly (ARR) basis.

 

For example, a SaaS provider with 1,000 subscribers at $30 per subscriber would have an MRR of:

$30,000 = 1,000 x $30 = $30,000 in monthly revenue.

Recurring revenue generated by current subscribers supports predictability and stability of revenue compared to other types of businesses.

 

2. Customer Metrics

Financial models in SaaS businesses generally focus on customer metrics rather than revenue associated with product sales.

Key metrics include:

Ø Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC) to identify how much it costs to obtain a new subscriber.

Ø Customer Lifetime Value (Lifetime Value or LTV) the average total revenue that a subscriber will provide during the entire subscription period.

 

Ø Churn Rate the percentage of subscribers that cancel their subscription during a given time period.

 

Ø Retention Rate the percentage of subscribers that continue to subscribe and receive services.

 

These metrics help SaaS companies determine how profitable their customers are and how sustainable their businesses are.

 

3. Initial Customer Acquisition Costs

Many SaaS businesses spend a significant dollar amount to market and sell their services to attract new customers.

 

Marketing costs may consist of the following:

Ø Digital Media

Ø Sales Teams

Ø Promotional Activity

Ø Product Trials

 

 

4. Predictable Revenue Streams

Once a customer subscribes, it is easy to predict the revenue you would receive each month or each year. Most customers are going to renew their subscriptions. Therefore, you can accurately predict the monthly or annual revenues due from each customer.

 

This allows for:

Ø Accurate forecasting of revenues

Ø Planning of budgets and expenditures

Ø Attracting investors

Investors like SaaS businesses due to the predictability of revenue and the reduction of financial risk involved in investing in that type of business.

 

5) Scalability of the Business Model

SaaS companies typically have a high degree of scalability, which means they can expand rapidly without incurring significant additional expenses.

For example, when Zoom Video Communications had a significant increase in video meeting usage, it was able to quickly scale to accommodate millions more users because its platform was already built and able to handle many additional users.

 

Key Metrics Used in SaaS Financial Modelling

SaaS Financial Modelling Key Statistics

1. Monthly Recurring Revenue

MRR is the amount of money that you can predict each month as a result of customer subscription activity.

Calculation

MRR = No. of Subscribers × Monthly Subscription Price

For example:

Subscribers

Monthly Price

MRR

 

1,000

$20

$20,000

 

MRR enables companies to evaluate their levels of growth and accurately forecast their revenues.

 

2. Customer Acquisition Cost

CAC measures the cost incurred by a business in acquiring new customers.

Calculation

CAC = Total Sales and Marketing Expenses / Total New Customers

For example:

Sales & Marketing Expenses Total New Customers     Total CAC

$50,000   500  $100

A lower number for CAC indicates efficient customer acquisition for a business.

 

3. Customer Lifetime Value

LTV is the total revenue generated during the relationship a customer has with a business.

Calculation

LTV = Average Revenue per Customer × Customer Lifetime

For example:

Monthly Revenue

Customer Lifetime

LTV

 

$20

36 months

$720

 

Many investors look for LTV to CAC ratios greater than 3:1.

 

4. Churn Rate

Churn Rate measures the percentage of a company's customers that have cancelled their subscriptions to that company's services.

 

Calculation

Churn Rate = (No. of Customers Lost / No. of Total Active Customers) × 100

For example:

Customers Started  Customers Lost       Churn Rate

1,000       50    5%

A lower Churn Rate reflects a company's ability to retain customers.

 

Typical SaaS Financial Model Structure


1. Assumptions List

Contains the following core assumptions:

Ø Pricing of the subscription

Ø Growing customer base

Ø Percentage of chur

Ø Cost of Marketing

Ø Costs of Operating

 

2. Projected Revenue

The revenue will be based on the growth of the customers as well as the price of the subscription.

Example:

Month

Customers

Price

Revenue

Jan

500

$20

$10,000

Feb

600

$20

$12,000

Mar

720

$20

$14,400

 

3.Cost Structure

Typical expenses for SaaS companies include:

Ø Expense for Software Development

Ø Expense for Cloud Infrastructure

Ø Expense for Sales and Marketing

Ø Expense for Customer Support

Ø Expense for Administration

Example Breakdown of Expenses:

Marketing                           40%

Product Development         25%

Infrastructure                      20%

Administration                   10%

Support                               5%

 

SaaS Expense Distribution


 

 

Revenue Growth Graph

Example of SaaS revenue growth over 6 months:


Month

Customers

Monthly Price

Revenue

January

500

$20

$10,000

February

700

$20

$14,000

March

900

$20

$18,000

April

1200

$20

$24,000

May

1600

$20

$32,000

June

2000

$20

$40,000

 

Creating a Financial Model for Your SaaS Company

There are five steps to creating your SaaS financial model:

 

Step 1: Specify Your Business Assumptions

To begin, you’ll want to specify the following important assumptions:

 

Ø subscription rate

Ø of customers to be added over time

Ø growth rate

Ø churn rate

Step 2: Project Customer Growth

The following chart shows an example of how to project your customer growth over the next 3 months.

Month

Customers

Jan

1000

Feb

1100

Mar

1210

 

Customer growth will be the single most important factor in determining the revenue generated by your SaaS company.

 

Step 3: Determine Monthly Revenue

Your revenue can be calculated by multiplying the subscription fee by the customer’s current subscription level.

The following formula illustrates this calculation:

 

Revenue = # of Customers * Subscription Rate

 

Step 4: Estimate Your Operating Expenses

 

In estimating your monthly operating expenses, include:

 

Ø cloud hosting

Ø development costs

Ø marketing expenses

Ø salaries/wages

 

Step 5: Determine Your Profitability

 

Profit = Revenue - Operating Expenses

 

This last step will show you whether your company will ultimately be profitable or not.

 

Importance of Financial Modelling for SaaS Companies


1. Makes Investment Decisions Easier

Financial modelling assists investors in analyzing if the SaaS company generates profits and would be a good investment.

Investors analyze important metrics such as:

 

Ø Monthly Recurring Revenue (MRR)

Ø Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC)

Ø Customer Lifetime Value (LTV)

Ø Churn Rate

These metrics help investors predict how much a company will grow in the future.

 

2. Facilitates Growth Planning

Using a SaaS financial model permits SaaS companies to forecast how many new customers they expect to gain and how much income they expect to generate. Companies can then use these financial forecasts when deciding:

 

Ø When to expand their operations

Ø When to hire additional people

Ø When to develop new products

 

Adobe is a great example of a company that used financial forecasting to grow its cloud services globally after switching to a subscription model.

 

3. Assists in Managing Cash Flow

Cash flow management is one of the most critical areas for SaaS companies, particularly during the early stages of development, because SaaS companies have high expenses for product development and marketing.

Financial models help companies:

 

Ø Forecast future expenses

Ø Manage their operational expenses

Ø Estimate cash on hand to maintain business operations

This will help prevent any financial shortfalls. and allows them to remain stable.

 

4. Assists in Tracking Performance

Financial modelling enables companies to routinely monitor and track key performance indicators such as:

 

Ø Monthly Recurring Revenue (MRR)

Ø Customer retention

Ø Customer Growth Rate

Ø Churn Rate

Monitoring the above metrics enables companies to better understand if the business continues to improve or if they are experiencing difficulties.

 

5. Aids in Strategic Decision Making

 

Management can use financial models to inform their strategic decision-making through the use of financial model data.

 

Companies can use financial models to determine:

Ø Pricing strategies

Ø Marketing budget allocation

Ø Investment into product development

Ø New market expansion strategies

 

All of which aid companies in minimizing risks and making data driven decisions regarding overall strategy.

  

Benefits of SaaS Financial Modeling

 

1. Consistent Revenue

One of the main benefits of SaaS Financial Models is the ability to predict recurring revenue more effectively. Since SaaS companies generate recurring revenue from monthly subscription fees, analysts can develop projections based on subscription fees and the number of current customers. This can be very useful in projecting what monthly revenue from new customers will be.

For example, if a SaaS Company has 2,000 customers, each paying a monthly fee of $25, the projected monthly revenue will be:

 

Total Revenue = 2,000 * $25 = $50,000

 

Knowing the amount of revenue projected helps both the company plan their operations and make investment decisions.

 

2. Better Business Planning

Developing models with financial information (aka financial models) helps businesses plan for future plans, i.e., product development, marketing budget, or salaries/hire staff.

Management can build-out different scenarios relating to:

 

Ø (development of) new customers

Ø pricing models

Ø investing in marketing

 

Developing and analyzing these types of models helps companies prepare for potential future closed sales as well as potential hurdles (like low customer satisfaction).

 

3. Potential Investment Opportunities

Prior to investing in a SaaS startup, investors typically want to evaluate the company's financial data at different points in time. A solid financial model that demonstrates revenue growth over time, low rates of customer churn and significant customer Lifetime Value will help attract venture funding to the company.

 

Salesforce's rapid growth in subscription revenue helped the growing SaaS company secure large amounts of venture capital during their early stages of growth.

 

4. Measurement of Progress

SaaS Financial Models enable companies to monitor key performance indicators (KPIs) over time. Some of the most commonly used KPIs include:

 

Ø Monthly Recurring Revenue (MRR

Ø The Cost of Acquiring New Customers (CAC

Ø The Lifetime Value of Customers (LTV

Ø Customer Churn Rate

 

Monitoring these types of metrics enables businesses to assess whether they are growing efficiently.

 

5. Helps in Decision Making

Financial models provide detailed insights that support strategic decision making.

Companies can use models to decide:

Ø pricing strategies

Ø marketing budgets

Ø expansion plans

Ø product development investments

This reduces uncertainty and improves decision quality.

 

Drawbacks of SaaS Financial Modeling

 

1. Complicated Calculations

There are many complex calculations in SaaS financial models that make them difficult to build and maintain. Tracking things like MRR, CAC, churn rate, and LTV will require an extensive amount of data analysis.

 

2. Reliance on Assumptions

Financial models often have a lot of assumptions surrounding things like customer growth, pricing, and churn rate. If these assumptions are inaccurate, your projections will also be inaccurate. For example, if you are forecasting 10% growth per month in new customers and only get 4%, you will have over-forecasted your revenues.

 

3. High Data Requirement

There is a huge amount of customer data and financial data that is required for SaaS financial models: customer acquisition cost, subscription rates, retention data, operational costs, etc. In the initial stages, small start-ups may not have reliable collected customer data.

 

4. Sensitive to Customer Churn

SaaS companies rely on keeping customers to maintain their business model; therefore, if a number of customers cancel, they may see revenues drop quickly. For example, increased customer churn could dramatically impact companies like Zoom Video Communications if their customers were to switch to another competing platform.

 

5. Time Intensive Process

To build a detailed SaaS financial model, it would take a great amount of time and expertise. The modeling analyst will need to continually update this model with new data in order to keep it up to date. This will result in an increased workload for the finance team.

 

Conclusion

The role of Financial Modelling is Sending SaaS Business's Success, but because of the various methods that are used in SaaS companies such as subscription revenue or Long Term Customers to (imply) that the traditional Way of performing Financial Modelling is not enough to determine how A SaaS Company is performing; therefore, to predict these Businesses Financially, companies can measure their performance using Several Types or Metrics (to Describe Financial), (i.e.) Monthly Recurring Revenue (MRR); Customer Acquisition Costs (CAC); Lifetime Value (LTV); and Churn Rate (CR).

Through the successful use of Financial Modelling by some companies such as Salesforce and Zoom Video Communications Have Demonstrated How Strong Financial Modelling Can Support Rapid Growth and Global Marketplace Expansion. In doing so, These SaaS Companies Have Been able to Analyze the Costs of Acquiring Customers, Retaining Their Customer Base and Monthly Recurring Subscription Revenue in a Way to Develop a Sustainable Business to Continue to Grow and become Attractive to Potential Investors.

 

In Today's Digital Economy, (Due to the Impact of the COVID19 Global Pandemic) Financial Modelling has become Critical for Start-Ups, Analysts, and Investors' use for Evaluating the Performance of SaaS Companies; (Evaluating the Performance of S/W) Evaluating Risk and Making Management Decisions.

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